Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (2) - TV Shows (3) - DVDs (1) - Books (1)

Sex and the City review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 9 October 2012 01:25 (A review of Sex and the City)

My mother watches this cr**. I have to say, this is not the Feminist, empowering stuff its made out to be. Ultimately, the womens lives are about meeting men, pleasing men and meeting 'the one'.
Its not realistic either, it portrays women as a sisterhood and supportive of each other. Womens lives are not really like this, at all. Womens lives and friendships with other women are very political, competitive and based often and sadly, on gender politics.
And when I've been to NY, none of the women look like this nor have the lifestyles like this!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

A History of the World review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 4 October 2012 04:05 (A review of A History of the World)

This book and current BBC series is top notch and riveting. The well informed political journalist and brain of Britain, Marr, follows key stages in world history and unravels the most charismatic and powerful people in history and how they transformed global developments. The last episode followed the rule of Alexander the Great, and his swift march to power across the middle east. It is eye opening, in that you realise all in history is repeated and repeated and that our ere is really nothing new. It opens a debate about the merits of post modernism.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Educating Rita review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 4 October 2012 03:37 (A review of Educating Rita)

I cant believe this film has been given bad ratings. I take it those who have left these reviews are analysing scenes and editing techniques from a US perspective , rather than putting it into the social and economic context it was meant for!! This wonderful film stars the equally amazing Julie Walters who portrays a working class, British women dealing with patriarchy, working class ideals and values about women and about education, whilst being funny and entertaining!

It highlights everything about education, priviledge and sexism that still exists today (yes even in your wonderful United States where you dress it up as equal opportunities)!
The film ends in a positive way; Rita learns to think, she doesn't just learn to pass exams (which is what education has sadly turned into).
A poignant message about self improvement for all students who just think about a career or money.
(That's most)!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Indian Hill Railways review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 4 October 2012 03:28 (A review of Indian Hill Railways )

A wonderful series about the lives of people who work on and around the Indian Mountain Railways. This series gives a rich insight into the culture and cultural differences within India it's self and also, shows how caste is still very important in modern India. I loved how the show was still upbeat in it's tone, even when people experienced hardship or poverty. It also is nostalgic for lovers of traditional trains and steamand the idea that Empire enriched India. The railway company is a public system and despite costs, is still run very well and efficiently, rewarding it's workers well with generous packages.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

American Dad! review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 29 September 2012 08:48 (A review of American Dad!)

I rave about American Dad to people in the UK but many haven't seen it. I feel its superior to the over rated, Fanmily Guy. Family Guy gets the ratings and viewers because it uses shock tactics. American Dad, to me, is far more satirical and witty without trying as hard (therefore more on par with the Simpsons). It is too, a send up of 'the perfect, Republican American , family. They get involved and experience everything that proves their ideology is stupid, but still Dad comes back to it , blinded by some false sense of patriotism. Fantastic. Must get the old man to buy me the box set for xmas as I always miss episodes in the UK, as they're on late on BBC3.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

It review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 29 September 2012 08:39 (A review of It)

I watched this a long time ago and couldn't help feeling it wasn't as scarey as the book. It was easy to follow and ticked all the usual Hollywood boxes, but lacked the mystery of the paper version.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ratatouille review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 22 September 2012 03:20 (A review of Ratatouille)

Wonderful Disney film, one of the best and lesser known. My sons loves this. What I love is that the film has a strong message about discrimination and proves that the minority can fight the majority.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block